Upcycled Furnitures

Lately, I’ve been so inspired with upcycling projects that I seem to be reading them, seeing them and breathing them in my daily activities!

Wikipedia defines upcycling as the process of converting waste materials or useless products into new materials or products of better quality or a higher environmental value.

In short, upcycling maintains or improves the quality of the materials.

There are so many resources around us that allow us to use our creativity, imagination and skill to turn something old and lacklustre into a fabulous new creation.

Perhaps you’re renovating your home. Give the old bathtub a new facelift by turning it into a daybed or couch as US based Lawrence of Ruff House Art did.

Not sure what to do with the old mirror that been sitting in your family hallway for years.  Blogger Kimberly of The Brown Eyes Have It turned an old mirror into a chalkboard menu.

Kids furnitures are not forgotten. Fall in love with this red upcycled toddler bed which Gail beautifully created. A genius indeed!

If you like to try your hand with upcycling, here are some blogs to read for inspiration.

1. Emily’s Upcycled Furniture has some beautiful upcycle projects to look at. You will fall in love with the numerous shabby chic furnitures here.

2. Hilary rescues old and vintage furnitures and breathes new life in them. Don’t say I didn’t warn you of her Etsy store!

3. Design Sponge has a beautiful and easy to find menu, which allows you to search for ‘Before and After’ projects based on level of difficulty, price range, furniture and technique. I instantly fell in love with this mantel bookshelf!

4. Cassie of Primitive & Proper offers painted and upcycled vintage furnishings and accessories for homes.

These are some of the websites that I have come across and no doubt will be a loyal fan for my inner creativity. Here’s a piece I showcassed on my Facebook fan page some months back. Nothing much to shout about really, but I found an old wooden wine rack in an op shop and gave it a simple makeover. Voila! I give you my shoe rack!

Have I inspired you now to take on a new project? When you least expect it, someone’s trash could pave way for a newly inspired furniture that you’ve been dreaming of. Hunt at op shops, garage sales, Lions Market, flea markets, estate sales or even your neighbourhood to source for that initial inspiration.

I have featured US bloggers and upcycled artisans here. At my next blog post, I hope to bring you some Australian flavour and introduce them to you. So stay tuned!

Meanwhile, I wish you a colourful and creative new week!

Kamini xx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upcycled Furnitures

  1. Nina says:

    Thank you so much for this article. I’m starting my own up cycling blog and found this post very useful to my research. Best wishes, Nina of So House Proud!

  2. Kelly Hughes says:

    You have a great page, I am a newbie at this and have just started my own upcycling blog too! I have signed up and look forward to more inspiring updates! Diary of a Rubbish Lover x

Leave a Reply

